Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Last weekend I made some killer muffins. Shane is in love with both my banana and pumpkin muffins so whenever I am home or with him I like to bake him some as a treat. I also enjoy them myself. Usually I am able to make 12 large muffins and 6-9 mini muffins so I keep the mini ones for myself but they only last a day or two. I usually just throw everything together in a bowl and change up my ‘recipe’ a little bit every time but this is my pretty standard ingredients.

I like to use some other type of flour when I bake to add some extra protein and texture and lately my favorite has been coconut flour but feel free to use almond, peanut, soy, or whatever your heart may desire. 🙂

image photo

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • ¾ cup white flour
  • ¼ cup coconut flour or nut flour
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 tbsp ground chia seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 large ripe bananas
  • 1 large egg
  • ¼ cup greek yogurt
  • ¼ cup milk or water
  • ¼ cup peanut butter or other nut butter
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Grease 12 muffin cups or line with muffin papers.
  2.  Sift flours, baking soda, cinnamon, and chia seed ingredients into a medium bowl.
  3. Combine egg, sugar, milk, and yogurt in a large bowl.
  4. Add flour mixture to wet mixture and when blended vanilla, peanut butter and mashed bananas.
  5.  Fold in chocolate chips (or walnuts) and pour batter into molds.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden.
2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

