Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Brownies

Last Night I had a major baking itch and I knew I wanted something pumpkiny and chooclatey. Two of my favorite things! I live for fall and pumpkin season; I always stock up on Trader Joe’s pumpkin bread mix, Fresh Market pumpkin coffee and pumpkin pie almonds, as well as a few other of my favorites before the stores stop carrying them for the season. So last night I made these amazing pumpkin chocolate chip brownies. At first they were just pumpkin chocolate chip bars but then I decided to top the pan with brownies and it was a great idea! I admit to half cheating on the brownie part though since it was a last minute decision and we have no cocoa powder in my dorm :/ I used some Trader Joe’s yogurt brownie mix. Without further adieu here is the pumpkin chocolate chip bar recipe I made.

photo 2

PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP BARS: (Add brownies if desired)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Pumpkin Puree
  • 2/3 cup Egg Beaters or 2 eggs
  • 1 T Canola Oil
  • 3 T Coconut Oil (melted)
  • 1 cup All Purpose Gluten Free Flour
  • 2/3 cup packed Brown Sugar
  • 1 scoop Pumpkin Spice protein powder (vanilla can be subbed)
  • 1 T Baking Powder
  • 2 T ground Chia seeds
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp Ginger
  • 1/4 tsp Cloves
  • 1/4 tsp All-spice
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 2/3 cup Chocolate Chips

Instructions: 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare a 9×9 in pan (these will be thick so a larger pan could be used if desired).

2. In a medium bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, coconut oil, canola oil. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, mix together flour, brown sugar, baking soda, spices, chia seeds and salt.

4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until completely combined.

5. Fold in chocolate chips. Pour into baking pan.

6. Next prepare brownies as instructed by box if desired or bake just the pumpkin bars. If you are only making the pumpkin bars it should take about 18-22 minutes to bake. If you add the brownies they will take 25-30 minutes. Check and poke with a tooth pick until it comes out clean.

7. Allow to cool before cutting into them.

photo

Everyone I have given one of these too have absolutely loved them. They are overall pretty healthy, still a dessert by all means but not a terrible one for you. The pumpkin bars aren’t too sweet so its a good balance of savory and chocolatey. After 24 hours they are almost gone and I cut the pan into about 25 pieces because they are so thick. (Didn’t stop me from enjoying two last night but I tried)

photo 1

I have been eating all things pumpkin lately, someone might have to intervene soon. Between the pumpkin pretzels, pumpkin almonds, pumpkin coffee, pumpkin chocolate chip brownies, and even some pumpkin energy bites I made (i’ll post the recipe later). I will not be surprised if I am a slight orange tint by the end of november… I even get a pumpkin pie for my birthday ‘cake’ since my birthday is November 11th, homemade only though is the only way to go since I don’t like/should really be eating the crust with my fructose intolerance and I need fat free milk in it too with my dairy sensitivity… yes I am a problem child but I’m learning to live with it.

I hope you like the bars/brownies however you decide to make them. I know my boyfriend is wanted me to mail him a cake package with another batch of these included he said he would eat the entire pan. He loves pumpkin just about as much as me 🙂

One thought on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Brownies

Leave a Reply

