Pumpkin Pie Bites

I think we all get the picture that bloggers are obsessed with all things pumpkin come fall. I really feel like I fit into this blog world or maybe it’s just the female sex because of the cravings and food loves that I have.

Exhibit A: Love for Pumpkin

Exhibit B: FROYO addiction

Exhibit C: Love of coffee and Starbucks

Exhibit D: Spending far too much time thinking about what to make/eat

Exhibit E: Love of trying new products and grocery shopping

I know you could argue some of these statements but from personal experience I know my boyfriend would be more than happy eating cereal, meat and potatoes, and sandwiches for all meals indefinately. Also, compared to my roommates and friends they are always interested in the new things i’m trying and eating. They always comment on how I never go for ‘normal food’ I always have something special like flavored nut butter or complicated oatmeal/yogurt combinations… really they aren’t that complicated or special it’s just a little better than the maple brown sugar Quaker oatmeal everyone eats of the Jiff/Skippy etc brands of peanut butter. I like to try new things and switch it up!

So onto my Pumpkin Pie Bites! I have been eating them before/after runs since I made them they are savory not sweet but good!

image

Ingredients:

  • 2 T pumpkin puree
  • 2 T oats
  • 2 T pumpkin spice protein powder (or vanilla)
  • 1 T nut butter
  • 1 T Coconut Butter, Melted (I used Nikki’s Pumpkin Spice Donut!)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 T ground hemp seeds

Directions: Combine All the Ingredients except for 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and the ground help seeds in a bowl. It should be a pretty soft consistency. I then rolled them into small balls using a spoon and my hands, you’ll get a little sticky. I mixed the cinnamon and hemp seeds into another small bowl and then rolled the balls into the mixture to coat them. Then stick them in the fridge or freezer so they harden up. Enjoy as a pre run/post run/on the go snack! They aren’t sweet but they are perfect when I am running out the door very early to run or in a rush before class.

image

photo

Leave a Reply

