WIAW: lately & homemade hummus

Hello and welcome to another Wednesday! Halfway through another week and closer to Thanksgiving 🙂 I cannot wait to go home! Wooooo. And to make things even better tomorrow is Halloween! I really like Halloween; each year my teammates and I go trick or treating, it helps that we all look super young and we wait until the later end of the time so the kiddos go first 🙂 This week I feel like everywhere I have gone has had a candy bowl, probably not what I need the week leading up to a big race but oh well. Many kit kats, hersheys special dark, and snickers (all minis) have been devoured, no pictures necessary. So onto the actual eats, here are a few! And a bonus hummus recipe at the bottom; I had some carrots that I wanted to eat with hummus but only had a can of chickpeas so I decided to make my own. So easy!

tunafish, brussel sprouts, quinoa, sweet potato tots
tunafish, brussel sprouts, quinoa, sweet potato tots
hummus quinoa salad with broccoli
hummus quinoa salad with broccoli
Salmon, Kale, romain, roasted sweet potatoes, and brussel sprouts
Salmon, Kale, romain, roasted sweet potatoes, and brussel sprouts
baked banana peanut butter oats cut into bars
baked banana peanut butter oats cut into bars
moules frites from Luke
moules frites from Luke
spinach, black beans, shrimp, and onions
spinach, black beans, shrimp, and onions
Whole Foods Cioppino soup with huge chunks of fish!
Whole Foods Cioppino soup with huge chunks of fish!
packed lunch of mixed greens, kale, tuna fish, sweet potato wedges, some other random veggies under there, trail mix with candy corn, and a satsuma
packed lunch of mixed greens, kale, tuna fish, sweet potato wedges, some other random veggies under there, trail mix with candy corn, and a satsuma
banana sweet eggs with cinnamon and chocolate chips
banana sweet eggs with cinnamon and chocolate chips
kale chips
kale chips
Steamed chocolate cake with salted caramel ice cream from Luke
Steamed chocolate cake with salted caramel ice cream from Luke
My homemade Lemon Garlic Hummus!
My homemade Lemon Garlic Hummus!

Lemon Garlic Hummus:

  • 1 can chickpeas (washed and drained)
  • 1/2 lemon squeezed or 2 T lemon juice
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 T water
  • 1 T olive oil

Directions:  Drain chickpeas and set aside. Combine remaining ingredients in blender or food processor. Add the chickpeas. Blend for 3-5 minutes on low until thoroughly mixed and smooth. I really like it, I added it to my quinoa chickpeas mix and have been eating it all week! I also saved half the hummus to eat with carrots as a snack this week.

Have a great Wednesday! My mornings are always such a rush with practice and 9 am class, I stopped taking pictures of my go to greek yogurt mix that I take to class almost every M/W/F! On the agenda today is class from 9-11, core work, cross training since I didn’t run the workout this morning, and an ice bath all before I settle in to finish a paper that is due tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

