GF Banana Pumpkin Bread

Last Thursday night I decided I wanted to bake something super yummy. I wasn’t feeling too hot (still am not) so some baking was in order. I knew I wanted something pumpkiny and I had a couple of over ripe bananas. So I decided to make some pumpkin bread and replace some ingredients with bananas and switch up a few other things from my moms pumpkin bread that I loved in high school before I had as many stomach issues.

photo

GF Pumpkin Bread: (with chocolate chips)

  • 1 cup gf oat flour (I made my own)
  • 1/2 cup soy flour (or any other)
  • 1/2 cup almond meal/flour
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (not pie filling)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 2 over ripe bananas
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 spice cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup coconut butter/oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • optional: 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray a bread tin with nonstick spray.
  2. In a medium bowl add flours, sugars, spices, baking powder and baking soda.
  3. In a large bowl mash the bananas then add the eggs, pumpkin, oil/butter, and vanilla and mix together.
  4. In parts add the dry mixture to the wet and blend together.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Pour into bread tin and bake for 50 minutes or until golden and tooth pick comes out clean.

I really really liked this recipe! I took my coaches a slice on Friday morning and they said it was probably the best baked good I had brought them yet! It is nice and moist, not too sweet, but great with the chocolate chips. I wrapped the rest up in foil and stuck it in the freezer for the weekend since I was leaving Thursday for a race and wouldn’t be in my room much but I pulled it out this morning and sliced some up so I can enjoy it all week long! 🙂

photo image

3 thoughts on “GF Banana Pumpkin Bread

Leave a Reply

