Energy Bites post Christmas gift

Finally, I’m typing up another recipe, I have so many things I have made and have not gotten around to typing up!

I have a ton of running friends, not surprising, and Christmas gifts always get super expensive so for all my buddies at home I decided to make some yummy energy bites this year. I wasn’t seeing some of them until after Christmas which helped as well since those days leading up to the holiday are always so hectic!

IMG_1128

I made a batch of these for myself and then more for my friends on the day before I was seeing them so they were fresh. They are super easy and don’t take long at all! My family even approved and they don’t always enjoy my health snacks.

Peanut Butter Pecan Energy Bites:

  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter (or any nut butter)
  • 1 scoop vanilla/peanut butter protein powder
  • 1 ripe banana mashed
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 2 T ground chia seeds

Directions:

1. Put oat flour (or grind oats into flour if need be) in a medium bowl.

2.Add protein powder, peanut butter, chia seeds and vanilla and mix together.

3.Add mashed banana and mix in well so there are no chunks.

4.Add peacans and chocolate chips and fold together.

5.Using a spoon or table spoon take dough and form into small balls. Then place onto a lined cookie sheet.

6.Once all the dough is gone place balls into the fridge for 20 minutes, they should be nice and dense.

Once mine are ready I always move them into a tupperware and keep them in the fridge for easy access. I really love making any sort of bite but these are my favorite yet! They are so easy to grab on early mornings before practice or going to the gym. You can really use a variety of protein powders too based off what you have. I used vanilla the first time and then peanut butter cookie dough the second time just because I had it available. So enjoy!

IMG_1129

IMG_1130

If you are wondering what the white chunks are in the picture it is some white chocolate chips I also added to the dough since we had a small around of white and dark chocolate chips lefts I just decided to use both them up and since they were not mini I chopped them up a little.

Let me know if you make them 🙂

3 thoughts on “Energy Bites post Christmas gift

Leave a Reply

