Weekly Workouts #22 and Friday in NYC

Wooo my milage is getting back to where it used to be and i’m still feeling good! I had some good runs at school and in New York this week. I was able to run with an old teammate in the city on Friday afternoon. I met her at her place after she finished up class and we got in a nice run, it wasn’t too cold out either!

My flight into New York was delayed Thursday, which put me in later than I would have liked. There were no Southwest direct flights from New Orleans to Laguardia so I had to transfer in St. Louis, MO. I didn’t check a bag at least but still didn’t land until 11 pm with a delay and then had a 30 minute drive to the house.

had a piece of king cake when we got to the house
had a piece of king cake when we got to the house

On Friday, I had a meeting in the city at noon and then headed to meet my friend at her apartment up by Columbia. I got to her place just after 1 pm and we set off on our run after a little while. We went over the GW bridge into New Jersey, it was a really nice run, we made it 8.5 miles and when we returned were both really hungry! It was already 3 pm by the time we ate, we choose Coogans, a runners restaurant and bar, that had jerseys all over the ceiling.

around the corner from the Armory, a track meet was going on, it made me want to race!
around the corner from the Armory, a track meet was going on, it made me want to race!
lunch- fiesta shrimp salad
lunch- fiesta shrimp salad

I then had 5:30 dinner reservations at Rogue Tomate with my mom, colleen, and alex (our friends who we always stay with here). Dinner was pretty early for us but we were seeing Pippin at 8 pm. Colleen got my mom the tickets for Christmas because she was in her high school play of Pippin. Would not be my first choice of plays to see but it wasn’t my gift. Before the play, after dinner, we went to YoArt in the food court under the Plaza for frozen yogurt for desert. It was really close to the restaurant and on the way to the subway. It was the BEST yogurt I have ever had, but super expensive at 69 cents/oz. I picked salted caramel, ghiradelli chocolate, milk and cookies, and white chocolate moose yogurt plus a variety of toppings. photo 2photo 1

thought I was going to get crispy m&ms; guess I should stick to not buying vending machine candy
thought I was going to get crispy m&ms; guess I should stick to not buying vending machine candy

photo 3

Workouts:

Sunday: 10 mi (65 min) 8/10 mi on the alter g treadmill

Monday: 8.3 mi alter g run (53 min), core work

Tuesday: 7.5 mi (6x 200m on the track), 75 min elliptical

Wednesday: 7.25 mi (50 min), core work

Thursday: 6.3 mi (42 min), 75 min elliptical

Friday: 8.5 mi (63 min), core work

Saturday: 75 min elliptical, weight lifting

Total Milage: 47.85 mi, 3 x core work, 1 x weight lifting, 3 x cross training

3 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts #22 and Friday in NYC

  1. Dang girl – you rocked your runs this week. I never knew they had restaurants esp. for runners. How cool. I can only imagine the menu is full of carbs? Ha Ha! Glad you had a nice time w/ your Mom and friends – even if it wasn’t you choice of show to see 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

