A Tuesday?!?!?! find out a little more about me

Woah, I’m posting on a Tuesday… since when does this happen?? Well, I never seen to get a post done for Monday and yesterday I was on the plane heading back to school from home (I had a great weekend and am so happy I made it!) so I have some extra time in the air to type this up!  It helps that Hilary from Ranch Cookie nominated me for this and gave me some simple questions to answer. Not as much thought needs to go into thinking up a theme or what not. So I hope you enjoy reading a little about me and I hope everyone that had a long weekend enjoyed their extra day off! I unfortunately did not have Monday off class and went straight from the airport to class (I was only 25 min late for a 2 hour 40 min class last night… not too bad).

liebester-award

 

For those who don’t know, the Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. What does it mean? Well it’s German and has several meanings: dearest, sweetest, beloved, kind, pleasant, valued, enduring, and favorite. It’s a great way to share with the blogging community, get to know other bloggers and inspire others.

Rules:

1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
2. Answer the questions that the nominator set for you plus create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer.
3. Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
4. Go to their page and tell them.
5. No tag backs!

1. What is your nickname and how did you get it?

My only real nickname my teammates gave me during my first xc race at Tulane. It’s Stixxx/Stickles. The guys like to call me Stickles but a girl (not on the team) the night after the race when she heard them calling me Sticks said “Stixxx with a triple X, like a stripper” yeah not quite but it was pretty funny. So the reason for the nickname is because of my legs (long and skinny) when I was coming through the last 800 m of the race said they looked like sticks.

229888_10151277086827216_18749714_n4102445

2.     Did you play any sports growing up?

I started field hockey when I was in maybe 3rd grade and played until I graduated high school. I played lacrosse and basketball for 5th-8th grades. I took tennis lessons each summer of middle school. Most importantly I started running track freshman year of high school, the 400m race at first, and switched to distance senior year and now run for my college.

high school track championships- mile and two mile
high school track championships- mile and two mile
senior night field hockey
senior night field hockey

3.     What is a funny story from your childhood you’d like to share?

Hmmm… a tough one to be asked on the spot. A friend and I snuck out to the local Shore Stop (gas station convenience store) to buy propels and tasty cake butterscotch krimpets after we slept in our tree house one night… my mom was FURIOUS with us. It was like 3-4 blocks away and we went at like 9 am or so and one of us rode the razor scooter while the other bounced a basketball. Safe to say we thought we were the coolest things around. ha.

4.     Do you have any siblings?

I have one older sister. She is 27 months older than I am and we are very different.

DSC09944

5.     What is your dream job?

Oh gosh, no idea for real. I have changed my mind so many times. I really want to get a yoga certification (I would have already done it if I wasn’t so busy with track and it wasn’t so expensive) and teach a couple classes a week but I’m also considering becoming a personal trainer or doing something with food sustainability and healthy living. I guess it depends on where I end up in a year and a half when I graduate, since Shane will be a commissioned officer in the Navy and will be going to training school and then getting sent around every two ish years. I guess it does ask for dream job but I am a pretty realistic person and just want to be happy with whatever I do and I know that that means moving around with Shane so I will have to be flexible.

6.     Your celeb crush?

Hmmm, I don’t follow many celebs but I guess I would say Channing Tatum or Liam Hemsworth.

7.     What is your favorite breakfast food?

Greek yogurt is my favorite thing to eat in the morning. I love all the options to add into it and different flavor combinations- sweet/savory.

IMG_1378

oatmeal with greek yogurt, peanut butter, and blueberries
oatmeal with greek yogurt, peanut butter, and blueberries

photo 2

8.     How did you meet your best friend?

I know I should probably have someone else to say but Shane pretty much became my best friend very soon into our relationship. There is no one I trust more and I know I can tell him anything. We first were introduced at a track meet our senior year in high school through a mutual friend. My best friend growing up I am no longer very close too, we still talk occasionally but have very different interests. Doing sports in college really made me a different person, one that requires a lot of work and focus on the body, it’s given me different interests and most non-athletes/health focused college students just don’t get it and honestly judge me for choosing a health and disciplined life… yes those binge drinking, party going girls and guys don’t think I can be fun, have friends, or even think I’m normal since I don’t do what they do and enjoy working out.

IMG_0086

9.     Why did you start your blog?

I started it because I love reading other blogs and felt like I would fit in. It is also fun to be able to tell my story and keep me accountable. Even through I have a coach and a set running/practice schedule there is so many other aspects of healthy living that are left up to my own choice. I am more likely to make a healthy/nutritious meal and do my core work if I am taking pictures or recounting the workout on here.

10.   Favorite kind of ice cream?

I don’t really eat ice cream but I’m a huge fan of soft serve/ frozen yogurt. My favorite flavors are anything chocolate/coffee/pecan flavored. I always have some chocolate in my cup 🙂

photo

11.  What are three goals you have for 2014?

First, it is to relax, stay as unstressed as possible in order to keep my UC in control. Next, to remain healthy and compete in outdoor track. Third, I guess figure out where exactly I want to be once I graduate and figure out what is next in the books for me. I’m honestly not a huge goal setter; I know that goes against all strategies for success but I am a pretty determined person and don’t procrastinate too much so I don’t always feel the need to set goals all the time. But one I almost forgot about was the grocery budgeting goal for the spring semester. I’ll give you all an update on that tomorrow for WIAW to keep the food theme going.

Now I am off to class for the next 3 hours and then need to catch up on some stuff that I put off this weekend while I was home! Feel free to answer any of the questions above 🙂 I’ve got a busy week so I haven’t created any questions or tagged anyone but I hope you enjoyed my answers.

4 thoughts on “A Tuesday?!?!?! find out a little more about me

  1. No way! I am totally with you on the dream job! Right now I just got accepted into a food studies graduate program and it’s all about health and sustainability! For sure my plan for may when I graduate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

