WIAW #19 some more good home eats

Wednesday! Gotta love short weeks, even though I didn’t have the day off on Monday it still felt like it since I spent most of the day at home and got  back to Nola just in time to make my 6pm class… well I was a bit late but its a long class so not too big of a deal.

It was so nice being home for the weekend. I was nervous I wasn’t going to make it with the crazy storms pounding the North with snow and ice but I did! Shane picked me up late Friday night at the airport and we made it home around 10:30 pm. The rest of the weekend we spent just relaxing really. Saturday we went to Target so I could return a bathing suit my mom got me that didn’t fit and then Whole Foods and Sunday I got my haircut and we got frozen yogurt at Sweet Frog after since it was right next door and all. 🙂 Monday we hit up Godiva for our free truffles of the month on the way to the airport and Shane dropped me off at 2 pm. Of course we also both worked out/ran each day too and I did most of the cooking. It was a much needed break with my favorite companion!

With some good food too since my mom did some grocery shopping for us before she left town (she is in AZ for a business trip and then going to Las Vegas with my sister) which was really nice of her and let me enjoy some things I don’t tend to buy myself at school.

I wrote about how I wanted to utilize my meal plan and spend less money at the grocery store this semester so I don’t waste the money my parents have to pay for my meal plan that isn’t optional as a New Year goal. So far I have done a great job! I have yet to spend any cash at the grocery stores but that is partially because I have a few gift cards. I have a whole foods and Fresh Market gift card so I have been using those but only to buy a couple things I can’t get elsewhere or for my chocolate peanut butter covered pretzel addiction. I also have “Nola Bucks” in my meal plan which is money preloaded on my card that I can spend at certain places around the city and it just so happens one of those places is a grocery store that I have visited a time or two (sushi is included in this too and $3 roll happy hour is GREAT). We have “wavebucks” too on our cards and even though the on campus stores are over prices I started the semester with $1200 on it and at the end of the year it is use it or lose it so I have been buying what I want weather it is over prices yogurt, milk, salads, or anything else I may want. I’ve been using my grains and canned fish my mom stocked me up on last semester that I haven’t finished. With afternoon practice I am also going to the dining hall for an early dinner before my 6pm classes some nights too and have used up more swipes than I did at this point last semester. It hasn’t been too hard, besides going back to the dining hall after food poisoning but that happens, so I will continue to use my meal plan and budget at the store. I know my mom is willing to give me money to buy groceries but I feel bad if I end up wasting the money that went towards my meal plan at the end of the year and want to spend that first.

Here are my pictures, enjoy!

overnight oats with banana, peanut butter and chocolate chips
overnight oats with banana, peanut butter and chocolate chips
oatmeal, greek yogurt with kashi and blueberries
oatmeal, greek yogurt with kashi and blueberries
spinach, egg, and mozzarella wrap
spinach, egg, and mozzarella wrap
greek yogurt with smart start and reese's puffs, granola, and grapes
greek yogurt with smart start and reese’s puffs, granola, and grapes
english muffin, brussel sprouts, sweet potato tots and eggs with red peppers and smoked salmon
english muffin, brussel sprouts, sweet potato tots and eggs with red peppers and smoked salmon
salad with brussels, peppers, scallops and lobster
salad with brussels, peppers, scallops and lobster
hummus and pita salad
hummus and pita salad
butter lettuce, brussels, scallops, and mashed white beans with lemon and olive oil
butter lettuce, brussels, scallops, and mashed white beans with lemon and olive oil
chocolate peanut buter popcorn
chocolate peanut buter popcorn
chocolate covered strawberries and pretzels plus more trays of prezels
chocolate covered strawberries and pretzels plus more trays of prezels
chocolate banana smoothie/milkshake with muesli on top
chocolate banana smoothie/milkshake with muesli on top
red velvet Godiva truffle
red velvet Godiva truffle
baja fresh bowl with shrimp
baja fresh bowl with shrimp

IMG_1376

spinach lettuce, hard boiled egg, garbanzo beans,, carrots, black beans
spinach lettuce, hard boiled egg, garbanzo beans,, carrots, black beans
sushi!
sushi!
almond butter, cookie butter & chocolate chips.. I dripped pretzels into this
almond butter, cookie butter & chocolate chips.. I dripped pretzels into this
2 crunchy rolls, 2 eel rolls, a tuna roll, and a dynamite roll
2 crunchy rolls, 2 eel rolls, a tuna roll, and a dynamite roll
dynamite and eel roll
dynamite and eel roll

My favorite veggie has come to be brussel sprouts in the last year. I love the shaved ones you can buy at Trader Joe’s. I sautee them in a pan with some olive or coconut oil and cajun spice, it is so good! I also love salads, butter lettuce is my favorite! I’m a big fan of veggies but haven’t been getting as many in with afternoon track practice because of all the fiber and my digestion problems.

Have a great Wednesday!

One thought on “WIAW #19 some more good home eats

Leave a Reply

