WIAW #21: Let Lent Begin!

Happy Ash Wednesday everyone who is part of a faith that celebrates the lent season. I am Catholic so I do. Since I was a kid my mom had my sister and I give up something for the 40 days of Lent. When I was young it was always sweets (not by choice) and for some reason it was always food that was emphasized. Why must we always give up food?? Well that is a very controversial topic for many.

So each year of Lent I have stuck to giving up some sort of food or drink but it has actually made me a healthier person and really good for me. Being little my mom made us all give up sweets and I still consider it now since I have a terrible sweet tooth but sometimes I just want my froyo or chocolate, I work hard and my Lent sacrifice is still usually tough.

One year I gave up meat. I want to say I was in 7th grade? The reasoning because your not supposed to eat meat on Friday during Lent and my grandparents are very religious and don’t eat meat at all during Lent so I figured it was something we were supposed to not eat. This may have to later do with me giving up meat for good but who knows.

Another year I gave up soda (thank goodness that stuff is poison). My cousins and I used to binge on soda at my grandparents house since they always had multiple 12 packs and once I was a bit older I realized really how bad it is for our bodies and ever since giving it up I stopped craving it and maybe drink 5 sodas a year and only when I need the caffine and don’t have access to coffee (usually at work).

Then one year in high school I gave up specialty coffee drinks. I used to get a venti caramel macchiato at Starbucks 3-5 times a week. Not only are all the artificial sweeteners and chemicals terrible for you as well but it was costing me or my mom $15-$25 a week! So I allowed myself regular coffee or tea and now I solely drink those two savings TONS of money, my teeth, and my organs at the same time. 🙂

Those were my 3 big successes in Lent promises and I am actually pretty proud of those. Not all years have been so successful though. I tried to give up frozen yogurt one year but still went every Sunday and I still love it! So this year I have decided to give up trail mix/nuts but not nut butter. My reasoning behind this is because 1. my skin has been terrible lately and I think it may be to eating much more trail mix and nuts than I used too and I mean A LOT of it everyday. 2. Each combo of nuts I eat I eat with chocolate which really makes it not as healthy. 3. I have been eating way to many handfuls of trail mix before track practice and it makes me feel sick during my entire run and I really need to break that habit because I don’t like running everyday thinking i’m going to get sick. The final reason is because nuts a very hard on the digestive system and I still have a lot of problems and healing I need to do so hopefully this will help. So there ya have it! My Lent promise and some past successes. Now here are my eats from last week and I did finish off my trail mix I had opened before today… didn’t want to waste it!

 


 

pumpkin overnight oats with banana, cereals, chocolate chips, and peanut butter
pumpkin overnight oats with banana, cereals, chocolate chips, and peanut butter
spinach salad with broccoli, strawberries, almonds, onions, nutritional yeast, and a black bean veggie burger
spinach salad with broccoli, strawberries, almonds, onions, nutritional yeast, and a black bean veggie burger
banana peanut butter wrap, sweet potato and peanut butter, and a butter lettuce salad
banana peanut butter wrap, sweet potato and peanut butter, and a butter lettuce salad
eel roll and crunchy roll
eel roll and crunchy roll
cereals, peanut butter chips and chocoalte chips
cereals, peanut butter chips and chocoalte chips
YUM
YUM
salad with tomatoes, beets, carrots, cucumbers
salad with tomatoes, beets, carrots, cucumbers
fruit, a roll and soup
fruit, a roll and soup
pre race snacks
pre race snacks
big salad and a roll
big salad and a roll
lots of fruit
lots of fruit
eggs, fruit, bananas
eggs, fruit, bananas
veggie chips
veggie chips
salad with avocado, tomatoes, and salmon
salad with avocado, tomatoes, and salmon
spring roll
spring roll
tuna, salmon, and avocado rolls
tuna, salmon, and avocado rolls
salad, sweet potato tots, and veggie chick'n nuggets
salad, sweet potato tots, and veggie chick’n nuggets
yogurt, oatmeal, pumpkin puree, muesli, chocolate chips
yogurt, oatmeal, pumpkin puree, muesli, chocolate chips
chick'n veggie nuggets and sweet potato tots
chick’n veggie nuggets and sweet potato tots
mixed greens and smoked salmon
mixed greens and smoked salmon
amazing cinnamon sugar kettle corn and the carrie diaries
amazing cinnamon sugar kettle corn and the carrie diaries
yogurt, oatmeal, cheerios, blueberries, granola
yogurt, oatmeal, cheerios, blueberries, granola
king cake macaroon.. soo good!
king cake macaroon.. soo good!
new to me flavor
new to me flavor
post run yogurt trip
post run yogurt trip
roasted broccoli, carrots, and sweet potato
roasted broccoli, carrots, and sweet potato
sauteed spinach, two eggs, salsa, and avocado
sauteed spinach, two eggs, salsa, and avocado
late snack of life cereal, chocolate chips and pumpkin spice peanut butter
late snack of life cereal, chocolate chips and pumpkin spice peanut butter

Have a greattt Wednesday!

3 thoughts on “WIAW #21: Let Lent Begin!

  1. Such a well balanced diet. I really enjoyed hearing what you’ve given up in the past & this year as well. I had to laugh because I used to indulge in frapps a few times a wk back in high school as well. What can I say – they were my weakness LOL

    Like

    1. They get so expensive, I don’t even want to try and guess how much I spent during my years or macchiato addiction! Even making coffee at home seems expensive to me now. I’m glad I don’t even want the fancy coffee drinks anymore

      Like

Leave a Reply

