Weekly Workouts #30 & International Women’s Day

First up Happy International Women’s Day. Thanks Jan at Sprouts n Squats for the great link up!

iwd2014_final

1. How have you inspired others in your life with your health and fitness?

I met one of my now best friends at school in the student gym our freshman year and we have been friends since. During freshman year we would bike to Whole Foods all the time and make dinner together. We still bike to the grocery stores and go to the gym together. She will often text me and ask if I am at the gym to hold her accountable to going and we make good choices at the store.

I also convinced my mom to go to her first yoga class with me this summer and now she tries to practice at least once a week. She will get herself out of work early to make a 630 class at our gym and we go together when I am home.

2. Do you remember what inspired change in you?

I ran my first 5K and realized I could be pretty good if I gave it some effort and decided then I wanted to get a scholarship to college if I could. I was able to and I work everyday to become better.

3. Who currently inspires you with your health and fitness?

My health and fitness is inspired by other runners that I race against. I keep training hard on my own during practice to be able to run with the best during our meets and stay in the front pack. My mom also inspires me to eat better (less sweets) when I am home I definitely notice I snack less on chocolate and more on fruits and veggies. My coach once made a comment that my mom spoils me… With good food. He thinks its very healthy and good for not only my sport but also life long habits.

4. What is the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

The best advice I have been giving is to just listen to my own body because no one knows me better than myself and no one knows how I am feeling or what works best. I know I train very differently than anyone else and what works for me is not usual to work for others.

5. If someone was to make one small positive change to start improving their health and fitness, what would you suggest?

I would suggest to start with small changes, like adding one salad a day or switching cereal for a more nutrient packed breakfast, and for fitness by adding in short walks or if they already walk start doing walk/jog intervals.

Workouts:

Sunday: Off, lots of walking at the parades

Monday: 7.4 mi

Tuesday: 10.25 mi (65 min) alter g run, core work

Wednesday: 5.0 mi (40 min), core work

Thursday: sick day off, dog walk 30 min

Friday: 65 min elliptical, core work, 20 min dog walk

Saturday: 3.5 mi (24 min), 45 min elliptical, dog walk

Total Miles: 26.15 mi, 2 x cross training, 3 x core work, lots of walking and some random yoga stretching on my own

Definitely a lot less than usual but I have been battling this rough cough/sore throat/runny nose. It has been terrible! My throat hurts so badly when swallowing and its hard to breath through my nose. I started a 10 day Z pack yesterday so hopefully that starts to make me feel better soon. I am really happy to have been staying off campus while being sick so I could sleep better and just be more comfortable. No being at practice helps too because at this point half my team is battling some sort of sickness, we just spend too much time together on buses and at practice, eating, hanging out, etc.

Happy national women’s day! Make a choice to inspire others in good ways. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts #30 & International Women’s Day

  1. Sorry to hear you aren’t well! I hope you feel better soon.

    I loved this post, thank you for joining in the link up 🙂 I think it is awesome that you inspired one of your now best friends with fitness and continue to do so.

    Sounds like you have a great mum, so good that she spoils you with good food too 😀 I like your advice about listening to your body, no one knows it as well as you.

    Well done on all the miles this week ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

