Recap of Shane’s visit Part 1

Hello, y’all ready for the weekend??? I am! I have a lot of work to get done but the weather is supposed to be nice so hopefully I can do most of it outdoors. I got in my longrun today so I can have an easy weekend run wise too.

Shane came to visit me last Friday until yesterday (Thursday) for his spring break. It was a really nice visit and we did so many things, mainly eating (plus running) but what is not to love about that?

Friday night he did not land until 830 so I had already gone out to dinner at the Cresent City Brew House in the French Quarter with a teammate, his grandparents, and another teammate. I order the Fried Shrimp Salad but asked for the shrimp to be grilled instead.

salad with shrimp tomatoes cucumber, pecans
salad with shrimp tomatoes cucumber, pecans

Saturday morning I got up and went on my first run since being sick. I kept it short and ran to campus (still dog sitting) (3.5 mi) then road my bike back to the house and stopped at Manhattan Jack for do’sants on my way. Shane got up to run and afterwards we made eggs with smoked salmon, lettuce, and avocado for breakfast. After cleaning up we took Holly for a walk and headed down Magazine Street to look for an ornament for his Sponsor Family. We ended up walking 1.6 miles down so 3.2 mi total. On our way back we stopped at popeyes so he could get some chicken and biscuits for lunch… it did start in Louisiana, right? I do my best to feed him healthy stuff but he loves his chicken tenders, sweet tea, sugary cereal, ice cream… etc. I made myself a baked sweet potato with plain greek yogurt, granola, banana, and chocolate chips plus some strawberries and melon when we got back to the house.

sweet potato, greek yogurt, granola, pb, banana
sweet potato, greek yogurt, granola, pb, banana
chocolate and peach cobbler do'sants
chocolate and peach cobbler do’sants

For dinner we headed to the grocery store to pick up some chicken strips for Shane and I already had some veggie tofu nuggets. We also headed up to Tulane to pick up some vitamin waters on campus. Then. when we got back to the house, I put together this Mexican quinoa sweet potato casserole and a salad. We ate a nice dinner and spent the night relaxing and watching some Food network. Desert was ice cream and frozen yogurt. Shane had a 4 flavor sampler from Creole Creamy and then we walked across the street to yogurtland so I could get that.

saald with mexican sweet potato bake, avocado, sauce, and tofu nuggets
saald with mexican sweet potato bake, avocado, sauce, and tofu nuggets

Sunday morning- day lights saving- so we lost an hour of sleep and got our morning started pretty late. We both decided to run in the afternoon. I woke up to a text from my coach asking me to go out to the alter g at 3 and Shane had a track workout to do. We had breakfast once we were up at the house, walked Holly (only 30 min this time) and stopped at Starbucks on the walk. Shane then watched the rangers game and I biked to campus to go to the alter g with a teammate since Shane needed my car to get to the track. This ended up taking up most of the afternoon and we both were not back to the house until 5 pm. At 6:30 two of my teammates came over to grill for dinner. Kade, whose grandparents had visited Friday, brought some veal sausage for them and I had salmon. With that we had leftover mexican sweet potato casserole and some steamed broccoli. After they headed out Shane and I cleaned up and then walked to Sucre for dessert. I picked out cinnamon bun and cafe au lait gelato and a king cake macaroon while Shane got the brownie sundae and shared a few bites since it was huge.

mexican sweet potato bake, salmon, broccoli
mexican sweet potato bake, salmon, broccoli
a brownie sundae and I had my own cinnamon bun gelato too
a brownie sundae and I had my own cinnamon bun gelato too

Monday was my last day dog sitting. That morning we did laundry and started to organize our stuff. Shane headed out on a long run (13 miles) and I took a bunch of my stuff back to school and then got in my own 9.2 mi run. After our runs and some core work and breakfast we biked down to the French Quarter to go to cafe du monde and walk around a bit. It was such a nice and sunny day. By the time we left the quarter it was already 1:45 and I needed to get back to school by 3 pm for class. We planned to stop at a great deli on Magazine street but it is closed on Mondays so we then went to Magazine street po boys. Shane got a fried shrimp po boy and I opted to make something back at the house. We still had some leftover casserole, salmon, and broccoli so that it was!

I biked back to campus for class that ended at 5:30 before making my way back to the house again where Shane was hanging out relaxing after a lot of time of his feet already that morning. We waited to feed Holly around 6:30 and put her outside for when my family friends got back home that night before we headed out to dinner. We choose Magasin, a vietnamese restaurant on Magazine street. I have been twice before and have always had good food. I ordered the shrimp spring rolls for us to share and then a tofu brown rice noodle bowl for my meal. Shane then wanted something new for dessert and I was at a loss; I finally decided to take him to Milk Bar because I heard they had great milkshakes. He got a banana milk shake and said it was good, probably made with whole milk though and he is a little sensitive to dairy as I am, just not as bad. I got myself some frozen yogurt at Pure which was a couple stores down.

cafe du monde beignets
cafe du monde beignets
vitnamese bowl with grilled tofu
vitnamese bowl with grilled tofu
spring brown rice spring roll
spring brown rice spring roll

So far in this recap I had only had to go to one class and the weather had been nice everyday! I’d say a success for his spring break. I love when family or friends come to visit because I get to go out to eat and make an effort to go to some of the places that I wouldn’t normally make the effort for after 3 years here like cafe du monde in the French Quarter… this post is super long so the second part will be coming soon! I swear all we did was workout (run, walk, bike) and eat but we enjoy that 🙂 plus saw a few friends too.

Leave a Reply

