Spill it Sunday! #1

Sunday! Personally I really like Sunday’s I feel very relaxed usually and not pressured to get my work done fast or anything… except I hate this day when I am home and have to head back to school and leave Shane or my mom. Well since I was not home any time recently this is a good Sunday! No big plans but an afternoon run with a teammate and a Dining Etiquette for student athletes tomorrow night. Free food and I don’t mind those “mandatory” meetings.

95967cd5bc89e99d031f259f09798816

Well this is my first Sunday linking up for Spill it Sunday from Arman (Thanks!) so I hope you enjoy… I love food and I kinda wish I had linked up the last three weeks on Fat, Protein, and Carbs but things have been super busy and I never made it around it to.

IMG_1224

The Selfie: From  last Memorial Day Weekend when we had a cookout in the back yard of my Godmother’s house in New York. They had spent 9 months out for construction and that weekend we were finally able to start moving them in!

1. What is your typical ‘go to’ lunch?

Well this depends on what I have been eating that week. I am a big fan of leftovers or meal prepped food for lunch. I never have that much time in the middle of the day to make food or do not want to eat a big meal before practice. So this meal can be a salad of some sorts, a grain, an extra veggie or two, and a protein OR it will be oatmeal with greek yogurt and fruit with lots of toppings. Those are the two post popular.

salad with brussel sprouts, sweet potato, asperagus, beets, mushrooms, canned salmon
salad with brussel sprouts, sweet potato, asperagus, beets, mushrooms, canned salmon
oats, greek yogurt, granola, and chocolate chips
oats, greek yogurt, granola, and chocolate chips

2. What is your typical ‘go to’ dinner?

I vary this one up a bit more. On Tuesdays I usually go out to sushi happy hour, Monday and Wednesday I take a big salad to my late classes with grains/sweet potatos, veggies, and protein plus some other sort of snack to crunch on. Thursday is usually the dining hall which is veggies/salad, fish, fruit, and often dry cereal. When I am home my easy dinner is either eggs or shrimp and a salad.

so much sushi!!!
so much sushi!!!
salad with tilapia, sweet potatoes, carrots, asparagus, cauliflower, and avocado
salad with tilapia, sweet potatoes, carrots, asparagus, cauliflower, and avocado

3. What is the best lunch/dinner you have eaten out?

Best?!?! Hmmm this one is hard to think about. One of my favorites was Teak on the Hudson in Hoboken, NJ. I ordered a spider sushi roll (I believe) we had calamari, shrimp rolls, edamame and for an entree the sake tuna tartare and miso marinated sea bass which was AMAZING (we got two orders)! It was a great meal and we went on a Thursday (?) where almost the entire menu was half off! My mom, sister, and I ate here last summer and it was such a deal with greatt food that we all shared.

IMG_1197 IMG_1202

Another good but simpler meal would be Luke’s Lobster. I went to one in DC and my mom goes all the time with coworkers. I brought my own salad to have with it too one day last summer.

IMG_0260

4. What is the best lunch/dinner you have eaten recently?

Well you all know my love of sushi… so if I don’t count that then probably tacos at the Rum House. I had a scallop and shrimp tacos with jerk veggies and sauteed plantains.

scallop & shrimp tacos, veggies, and plantains
scallop & shrimp tacos, veggies, and plantains

5. You are HANGRY. What would you make in little time?

I usually end up snacking on some dry cereal or veggie chips while making some eggs with veggies. One of the quickest and easiest meals to prepare that is still nutritious!

6. Link up your favourite lunch and/or dinner recipes.

I have so many favorite recipes!

Sweet Banana Eggs (for any meal)

Sweet Potato & Black Bean Enchilada’s (we add shrimp too)

Shrimp Quesadillas

Miso Glazed Salmon

7. If you had friends over for dinner, what would you make for them?

I am big on one pot meals with friends or large groups. Or atleast minimal pans and pots. So I choose to usually make a grain like quinoa that I add lots of spice and veggies too and then I pick a protein (fish) and usually place that on top of the grain/veggie salad and sometimes add a sweet potato on the side if not in the salad and maybe avocado or cheese too. I love cooking for big groups, I find it so fun!

Now I am off to drink more coffee, eat some food, and maybe head to the gym. I want to get it done early so I can get my tan on midday since the sun finally decided to come out! Enjoy a relaxing Sunday- they are the best 🙂

3 thoughts on “Spill it Sunday! #1

  1. um…how come it has taken me so long to come across your blog and WHY the hell aren’t we best buddies? Your eating style epitomises perfect. All the season. All the sushi. I don’t even know where to begin. The fact that you live near my favourite city in the world? Epic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

