WIAW: Gluten Free Week- Celiac Awareness

Hi, I hope you had a great Memorial Day Weekend and payed tribute to those that the holiday is really for. I have had multiple family members serve and am currently dating a boy with a military family so days like those really mean something because anytime his dad or other family member was out battling/protecting our country it could’ve been them to have lost their lives. They deserve much more respect than they often get.

Other news- does anyone out there do countdowns to MDW? I don’t but my sister always snapchats me with her at the gym and her countdown to her first weekend at the beach house they have a share at in New Jersey. It always amuses me, she workouts more heavily leading up to summer bathing suit season… like most Americans, not necessarily the best fitness mindset to have but she doesn’t listen to me.

Finally what today is all about: FOOD and how I tried to eat last week.

from: Strength and Sunshine
from: Strength and Sunshine

I wanted to recap my week going Gluten Free for Celiac Awareness month with Rebecca at Strength and Sunshine. Overall, I did a pretty good job but not perfect. I am not myself celiac so it is okay to make mistakes but I did figure some things out not necessarily gluten related but food related so with that I consider it all a success.

I do not actually eat a ton of gluten in my diet. I do get it in the form of pretzels (not always gluten free), cereal, cookies and brownies. But otherwise I do not like pasta and I do not eat much bread because at school I don’t have a toaster. So last week I did a little experimenting/switching things up.

I had some Udi’s Gluten Free bread- not bad at all, doesn’t really taste any different to me, but it was nice to toast it while at home and put some nut butter on it. I bought some Van’s GF french toast sticks. Those were really good with some syrup and bananas and cinnamon. Super easy to cook too (8 minutes in the oven at 400F). Another breakfast food I had was an oatmeal blend I made a while back from myoatmeal.com that I used GF oats for. I ordered 4 bags of oatmeal when I made them so I am working through the last bag now and will definitely order more!

french toast sticks, ginger snap bunnies, banana eggs, french toast sticks with yogurt and toppings
french toast sticks, ginger snap bunnies, banana eggs, french toast sticks with yogurt and toppings

The GF bars I eat are Quest bars and I had just ordered a box of Nakd bars. Both of which are really good. Other snacks were chex cereal, fruit and veggies and lots of nut butter and some trail mix.

One snack that I absolutely love but will be staying away from for awhile is veggie chips… Shane and I both noticed after 3-4 days of eating them my stomach hurt shortly after each time. Not as bad as the first day but I think that partially had to do with the veggie chips and partially because of the aspartame in the the I drank with them. Hopefully this isn’t permanent but there was no doubt when my stomach hurt what the last thing I ate was, so sad.

just some of the bars
just some of the bars

On Friday night at a USNA graduation party I ate a few bites of monkey bread (we all know this stuff is awesome) that was totally not gluten free and I did not feel too great after that but that could’ve been due to a number of ingredients in that sweet treat (Miss Shirley’s in Baltimore and Annapolis had the BEST Monkey Bread if you are ever there). The other not gluten free thing I had was soy sauce… at school I have liquid aminos (which is GF) but Shane and I went out for sushi and they didn’t have a gluten free version so I had some of the regular kind. Plus I ate a little bit of cookie butter before I realized it had wheat cookies in it… ops. But overall I did pretty well.

Besides those three mistakes I made I enjoyed many more healthy and gluten free meals throughout the week that resemble what I eat most of the time. Besides the GF products that are usually not GF (bread, french toast sticks, granola) other naturally GF products I eat regularly are lettuce, vegetables, fruits, quinoa/rice, sweet potatoes, yogurt, kefir, and fish.

So here are the rest of the pictures!

sweet potato and beet chips, plantain chips, ice cream, pudding
sweet potato and beet chips, plantain chips, ice cream, pudding
salad with tilapia, bean salad, avocado and beets, cheesy quinoa avocado salad seitan and sweet potato pancake with pb and granola, salad with seitan and cheesy quinoa, and trader joes salad
salad with tilapia, bean salad, avocado and beets, cheesy quinoa avocado salad seitan and sweet potato pancake with pb and granola, salad with seitan and cheesy quinoa, and trader joes salad
salad from sweet green, sushi, seafood cobb salad, shrimp cheesy quinoa asparagus and brussels, and sautéed kale with asparagus and cheesy quinoa
salad from sweet green, sushi, seafood cobb salad, shrimp cheesy quinoa asparagus and brussels, and sautéed kale with asparagus and cheesy quinoa
frozen yogurt and ice cream
frozen yogurt and ice cream
yogurt and granola/whey crunches and blueberries, salad fruit hummus and carrots and sushi, more fruit and sushi, cheesy quinoa veggie salad
yogurt and granola/whey crunches and blueberries, salad fruit hummus and carrots and sushi, more fruit and sushi, cheesy quinoa veggie salad
carrots and hummus, zevia, salad with beans avocado falafel, bai 5 tea lemonade
carrots and hummus, zevia, salad with beans avocado falafel, bai 5 tea lemonade

Make sure to check out the other WIAW and Celiac Awareness Month/Week Challenge link ups!

3 thoughts on “WIAW: Gluten Free Week- Celiac Awareness

Leave a Reply

