Hey There

Wow I haven’t posted in forever! I really contemplated whether or not I was even going to now. It has been a busy/crazy/challenging/fun couple months. I was home for summer and decided to step back from computer time the last couple weeks and really enjoy my time at home with my friends and family. Then before I knew it, it was time to make the long drive back to Tulane. I left 8/14 and went to stay with a teammate in Georgia for two days before we both left for Tulane on 8/16 to check into our dorms and start the cross country process of pre-season.

10449186_10152663724668115_2232218225310744732_n

As some might remember I had some foot problems this summer. Well, I hadn’t run since July 25th when I arrived at school and my foot was still swollen on top. So I had an x-ray on Monday and an MRI on Thursday. Turns out I had two metatarsal stress fractures as well as a minor tear and chipped bone in the foot. Somehow I really did a number to my foot with minimal training. So that means I was medically disqualified for my last season here. It has been a long and hard journey but I was hoping I would end on a strong note for my running career. I spent the last 5 weeks in the boot again and was just allowed to stop wearing it this past weekend. WOOO. I am at that point that I REALLY wish I was able to run and compete but I have accepted the outcome and that it was not meant to be. I do wish to continue to run for fun and hopefully will be able to do so after a new weeks of rehab to make my foot stronger. Our best guess as to how I messed up my (left) foot so badly is that I had done some of the damage before I had a stress reaction that spring and from compensating I managed to make it worse but we will never truly know.

That isn’t the end of the journey yet though. Because I was in a boot I had to drop my two dance classes this fall and add in some more academic classes. I am taking 19 credits to graduate and it is ROUGH. Plus because I am not running I am a “degree completion athlete” meaning I have to work for athletics because of my scholarship. It has been calculated that I need to work 8/hours/week, which doesn’t seem that bad but add 19 credit hours with A LOT of homework and it is tough to get everything done and still feel like I have time to do things I want to do. I just keep reminding myself that it is worth it in the long run.

It is safe to say that I am STRESSED. Very very stressed. I have been told a number of times I shouldn’t be because I am not running but that makes it worse. If I were running I would’t have to work and I actually enjoy running, plus I still workout which takes more time out of my days. With all that I am experiencing some UC (Ulcerative Colitis) symptoms again. It is early stages of them so I am doing my best to stop them before it gets bad. I have an appointment with my GI doctor tomorrow and went back to taking two medications instead of just the one I had gone down too. I am also able to go home in just over two weeks for Fall Break, which will be some much needed relaxation.

But not all is bad, first I have my trip home for fall break! I got a new Macbook Air the first week of school because my old laptop was very close to completely dying. Also, my roommate and I went to a Darius Rucker Concert last Friday; we snagged tickets off group for $35 each. The weather has finally turned pretty nice down here too, 85-90 and less humidity! It is pumpkin season and I am going all out because I love pumpkin things and last but not least the fact that I am graduating in just a couple months!

PicShells

1888687_10152755087528115_1209780017498798883_n
Roommate and I @ Darius Rucker with Sam Hunt and Chase Rice

There is a lot more to say but I think that is a decent recap/summery for now. I have just been dealing with a lot of different thoughts and a BUSY schedule and trying to do my best to stay relaxed and not stress but haven’t been able to completely avoid it. So that is all for now; it is about my bedtime!

2 thoughts on “Hey There

Leave a Reply

