Thanksgiving Foods Galore

Hey there, everyone excited it is Thanksgiving week! I am!! I need the break from classes to work on my final papers and such. Sounds like a blast right? but it’s gotta be done!

I am at least doing a couple fun things. I am seeing the Hunger Games: Mocking Jay Part 1 on Wednesday, doing a Turkey Trot 5 mile run Thursday morning, and going to a Thanksgving potluck at an old teammates house later in the day! So that means I need to bring a side dish! I am stopping myself from wanting to make #allthethings because I have a budget and a limited around of time but I will share some of my ideas/the recipes I have seen around the web and wanted to make.

This would be my ideal meal components if I had all the time and needed to cover all of Thanksgiving dinner and breakfast.

Breakfast foods:

Pumpkin Pie French Toast Bake – made this last year using pumpkin spice silk milk and pumpkin swirl bread!

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie

Pumpkin Spice Latte Smoothie

Pumpkin Nog

Sides:

Balsamic roasted brussel sprouts

Carrot Fries

Quinoa with Caramelized Butternut Squash and roasted Brussels Sprouts

Oven Roasted Beets and Potatoes

Sweet Potato Biscuits

Garlic Monkey Bread

Sweet potato Casserole

Whipped Cinnamon Pumpkin Honey Butter

Mains:

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Tofu

Butternut squash and Kale tart

Desserts:

Pumpkin Frozen Yogurt

Pumpkin Pie Dessert Bars

Vegan/GF Pumpkin Pie

Streusel topped Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Spice Fudge Brownies

Pumpkin Spice Crunch Cake

Paleo Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie with Crumbled Crust topping

 

So basically I want to make everything! There are so many more recipes that looked good. My friend that is hanging out with me Wednesday and Thursday is gluten free (celiac but not extreme- she can be near it/touch it/etc but can’t consume it, doesn’t have big issues if stuff is cross contaminated either, which makes things a whole lot less stressful) so we are thinking we will make GF Dairy Free Sweet Potato Biscuits, Sweet Potato Casserole, and Paleo Pumpkin Pie  with just a couple edits to the recipes. I am looking forward to baking and these yummy foods; I was informed there will be plenty of veggie dishes already so we did not need to cover that.

when I made pumpkin pie in a bread pan and the oven attacked me... still tasted good!
when I made pumpkin pie in a bread pan and the oven attacked me… still tasted good!

Last week the veggie club on campus was sampling some vegan/vegetarian Thanksgiving foods and it wasn’t bad. I’m not a tofurky convert but paired with some mashed sweet potatoes and vegan stuffing it wasn’t bad… the cornbread and pumpkin pies weren’t great though :/ Thanksgiving has never been all about the food for me though, ever since I stopped eating meat I’ve just made a simple salad, some fish, and had some rolls, mashed sweet poatoes, and of course a lot of pumpkin pie but my family doesn’t obsess over havings tons of food and overstuffing ourselves. I just enjoy the time spent relaxing together not doing anything. That will be the hardest part this year, even though I had friends I am spending the day with and having dinner with, it is not the same not to see family and Shane. That is what it should be about!

So I hope everyone reminds their friends and family or whoever you choose to spend your Thanksgiving day with that you love them and are thankful for them in your life! Food is always good at bringing people together so obviously enjoy that too but if you burn the bread or overcook the turkey it isn’t a day ruiner! I love myself some pumpkin pie but I would give it all up for just the company.

Have a great day and remember to be thankful this Holiday Season!

Leave a Reply

