Thanksgiving recap and Pumpkin Seed Garlic Hummus

Happy (late) Thanksgiving! I hope everyone had a great time with family and/or friends! I spent my day with friends and in the kitchen. It was pretty busy.

It started with some coffee and pumpkin bread with nut butter before a 8:30am 5 mile Turkey trot. My teammate spent the night Wednesday after we saw Hunger Games: Mocking Jay Part 1 and did some secret santa shopping at World Market (love that store!). We ran the race super slow, we had trouble finding parking so jogged to packet pick up, used the bathroom and hopped in the back of the pack, so we started really slow. Our finish time was somewhere between 41-42 min, we had timers but it started with the race start not when we actually crossed the start line. My foot didn’t feel too back during the race but I am paying for it a bit today. After the race I dropped her on campus and headed back to the house to make myself a pumpkin smoothie.

I also stopped at Whole Foods to pick up a couple things and once home did Fitnessista’s Give Planks which is a good workout! Then it was time to start the cooking extravaganza. I know I posted what I thought I was going to make but… life happens. So what did I really make?? glad you asked!

PicMonkey Sample

The Hummus Turned out really good! I chopped up a bunch of carrots, celery, and cucumbers plus bought veggie chips, biscuits, and triscuits to go with it. It was a huge hit!

IMG_3409

Pumpkin Seed Garlic Hummus:

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 2 garlic cloves chopped
  • 1/3 c. pumpkin seeds, plus more for serving
  • 1/4 c. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 t. pepper

Directions: Add chickpeas to food processor and pulse for 10-20 seconds. Add all other ingredients and pulse until smooth. Transfer to a bowl and sprinkle more pumpkin seeds on top to serve! EAT!

I’ve been a little hesitant of the hummus recipes with actual pumpkin puree in them but the pumpkin seeds were perfect for this savory dip! I hope you try it out 🙂

After I finished all my cooking I was able to take Holly on a nice walk, grabbed a Starbucks coffee, and came back to shower and pack up for Friendsgiving. I went back to campus to pick up my friend/teammate and we headed to the house. There was a huge spread of food! (which I seemed to have failed to picture) But I did get word that my pork turned out really good! Since I didn’t taste it and just kinda went for it, I’m glad it was a hit.

my plate- brioche, pesto tofu, hummus & veggies, quinoa salad, stuffed zucchini, potato casserole, squash
my plate- brioche, pesto tofu, hummus & veggies, quinoa salad, stuffed zucchini, potato casserole, squash
dessert plate! pumpkin pie w/ crumble topping, gf caramel apple brownie, baklavah, coffee frozen yogurt w/ sprinkles and some pecan pie (insides only-not a crust person)
dessert plate! pumpkin pie w/ crumble topping, gf caramel apple brownie, baklavah, coffee frozen yogurt w/ sprinkles and some pecan pie (insides only-not a crust person)

We watched some football and ate around 5:45. We had to head out at 6:45 to get back and feed Holly so we took dessert to go, which was perfect since we were both super full. Once we got to the house we settled in and watched Ratatouille on TV. We pulled out ice cream to thaw (coffee frozen yogurt for me) to enjoy with the little bit of every dessert we had grabbed! It was the perfect end to the night. Not a bad Thanksgiving at all, though not the same as being with family it definitely makes me appreciate when I do have the holidays with them!

I hope everyone else had a great Thanksgiving and remember to be Thankful this holiday season. Unfortunately my college has been struck with deaths not once but five times this semester and it really makes me appreciate everyday. Those students are not here to spend with their families and did not get to see them before the variety of tragic events that occurred. Be thankful for everyday and live life to the fullest!

Leave a Reply

