Christmas Celebrations Recap

How was everyones weekend? Sad to be back on the work grind? At least it is a short week with the New Year happening in a couple days. I am still hanging out in New York and having a blast! Not too much on the agenda but we are keeping ourselves busy and had pretty good weather over the weekend. But lets get back to Christmas!

My mom LOVES Christmas, she spent hours decorating our tree, which always turns out awesome. She always takes off extra time around the holidays too. So on Christmas eve I slept in a bit, woke up around 9 am and enjoyed coffee and breakfast with our company until 10:30 ish. They then headed out to the amish market for pretzel logs and I headed to the gym. After finishing my workout I picked up a couple last minute stocking stuffers for my mom at TJ Maxx. It is located in the shopping center next to my gym so I just left my car and walked over there to avoid traffic parking. I made it home by 1:30 ish and had a late lunch before getting ready for 4pm mass at the Naval Academy.

Naval Academy church, candle lighting
Naval Academy church, candle lighting
we love our Christmas trees!
we love our Christmas trees!

On our way to mass we saw some drama downtown Annapolis. A woman ran over her husbands foot while he was buckling a child in the back, she must not have put the car in park and let up on the break to roll forward just enough to be on his foot… ouch!!! Once she moved off, after a lot of yelling, he seemed to be able to move his toes and called an ambulance. Poor guy, not the best Christmas eve. Mass was good though, we hit up Royal Farms for scratch off lottery cards for stockings and were home for about an hour before heading to my moms boyfriends house for a mexican food dinner with some of his buddies. We were there pretty late, midnight, so Christmas day started a little late.

guacamole!
guacamole!
big salad I made with mixed greens, craisins, slivered almonds, pomegranate seeds, and a pomegranate vinaigrette
big salad I made with mixed greens, craisins, slivered almonds, pomegranate seeds, and a pomegranate vinaigrette
plate 1/2 of salmon, peppers, salad, guacamole and sweet potatoes
plate 1/2 of salmon, peppers, salad, guacamole and sweet potatoes
eggnog pie and kahlua chocolate pie
eggnog pie and kahlua chocolate pie
gingerbread pumpkin pie
gingerbread pumpkin pie

I woke up around 9:15 and made it up stairs for coffee by 9:30. We all got our coffee cups filled up and started with presents that we slowly opened for the next hour. I had already celebrated Christmas with Shane’s family the previous Sunday night too since they were in NY. I got some great presents and my family loved the presents I gave them as well. They were heading back to my moms’ boyfriends’ house for a late breakfast when I headed out to run with some friends from high school. It was great to catch up with them for an easy 6 mi run and the weather was awesome, mid 50s and sunny. I gave them some homemade pumpkin gingerbread granola. After my run I headed home and got ready to go to my Aunt’s house to celebrate with my dads’ family. It was great, all my cousins and aunts/uncles. We got there around 3 pm and I stayed until they were ready for dinner at 6pm. We opened presents, since the cousins do a gift exchange and adults give each other presents. I went home for dinner with my mom and godparents. They had a huge chunk of meat and I had salmon plus tons of roast veggies and potatoes. We ended the night watching Maleficent and then called it an early night compared to Christmas eve.

IMG_3646

best present- Lucchese boots!
best present- Lucchese boots!
my cousin is a pastry chef/chocolate maker and makes an epic gingerbread house every year!
my cousin is a pastry chef/chocolate maker and makes an epic gingerbread house every year!
the inside of the house has so much detail
the inside of the house has so much detail

Friday was a morning of gym time, lunch downtown and packing up for New York. We left just before 3pm and got to Larchmont around 6:45 pm. Not a bad drive at all. Shane picked me up from their house and that ended the Christmas celebrations. I still have some presents at my dads and will be going over there later this week to spend the night at his house with he and his girlfriend.

So crazy 2014 is almost over but I welcome the New Year and a lot of changes since I am now a college graduate! Woooo. This post is getting pretty long so I will recap New York later this week!

How was your Christmas? Best gift received/given? Anyone else make epic gingerbread houses?

I think this Christmas recap is MIMM worthy so I am linking up with Katie on this Monday!

Leave a Reply

