Banana Sweet Potato Muffins

Good morning! How are you doing today?

Did you watch the Grammy’s last night? I was recording it for my mom and decided to keep it on. I really like how people of influence and authority are finally more aggressively targeting domestic violence because it is a HUGE problem. We had some guest speakers last fall to educate us more on domestic violence and human trafficking. Many of us live in our bubbles, thinking it couldn’t happen to me/us, but the reality is it is a problem not only in developing countries but in every single country and every person should know how to protect themselves and be cautious everywhere you go.

So on a happier note, I have another recipe to share this week! I keep making super yummy stuff and then not writing down the measurements so that I can post them. I am one of those cookers/bakers that just kind of goes with the flow and adds stuff as I go and don’t always measure things. I know that is NOT what you are supposed to do but I can eyeball most ingredients 🙂 and have it work out, I did measure in this case though!

IMG_3983

Banana Sweet Potato Muffins: (makes 10 muffins)

Ingredients:
1 large sweet potato, baked and pureed/blended
2 ripe bananas mashed or blended
2 eggs
1 t vanilla extract
1 1/4 c gluten free flour (or any flour type)
1 scoop protein powder ( I used Quest multi purpose but any will work)
1 t baking powder
1 t cinnamon
1/4 c baking stevia (real sugar or brown sugar will work too)
1/2 c dark chocolate chips (or pb chips would be good too!)

Directions:
1. Spray or line muffin tin. Preheat oven to 375 F.
2. Blend sweet potato, then blend bananas (or mash them if you prefer that) I did this both in the same blender, then add to large bowl.
3. Add both eggs, vanilla, and stevia and mix well.
4. In another bowl mix flour, protein powder and baking powder. Add slowly to wet ingredients while mixing together.
5. Last, add dark chocolate chips and fold in.
6. Pour batter into muffin tins.
7. Bake at 375 for 16-18 minutes or until a tooth pick comes out clean.
Enjoy!

IMG_3982IMG_4017

They are not very fluffy but more dense. I had Shane taste test them and he thought they were really good, which is always a win in my book! I sent him back with a few and then kept the rest for my mom and I to eat as snacks in the morning. We love them and I hope you do too! You can feel good about eating your muffins with this recipe. 🙂

Today I am linking up with Tina Muir and Deborah at Confessions of a mother runner for Meatless Monday and the Real Food Recipe link up with Jo-Lynne Shane and Alison Ray.

p.txt
realfood_roundup_320

One thought on “Banana Sweet Potato Muffins

  1. Oooh looks like bananas were on the brain this week, a lot of our linkups had bananas this week. Love the sound of these, especially with sweet potato, so clever! Yum!! Thanks so much for joining us 🙂 Hope to see you next week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

