Meatless Monday: Edible (healthy) Cookie Dough

Hey there everyone. Today I am traveling to Chicago to brave the cold! Hah. But really, the warmest day this week is only 21 degrees as the HIGH! Ouch!!! Safe to say I will not be spending much time outside because add the wind chill and it is brutal! Since I am traveling all morning and what not I am typing up this post a little in advance and bring you a yummy recipe. I kinda forgot about getting this up until I ate multiple spoonfuls of my crumbly cookie dough Thursday night after a long babysitting job. The kids sorta had a crash and burn in the behavior department right before I got there so it was a little rough. This was the second family of the day I was watching kids for and the youngest of the bunch, a 2 year old girl and 3 year old boy. That is a tough age! We made it through and the mom felt so bad that they were acting so badly, I told her not to worry about it, I am a very experience nanny/babysitter. It happens, they are kids. I was ready for a treat when I got home though and luckily this cookie dough was already made! IMG_3994 Almond Cashew Cookie Dough:

Ingredients: 
-1/2 c. almond flour
-1 T coconut flour
-2 T melted cinnamon Earth Balance spread (or other buttery/coconut spread)
-2 T cashew butter
-10 drops of stevia
-2 T mini chocolate chips (or a handful to save from measuring)

Directions: 1. Melt buttery spread, the cinnamon is sweet which makes it very cookie dough like and non dairy, and cashew butter in microwave for 10-15 seconds in a medium-small bowl.
2. Add flours and stevia drops to bowl and stir together until crumbly mixture forms. Make sure there are no big buttery clumps.
3. Stir in chocolate chips and EAT!
Note– you can also just use almond butter or any nut butter in place of the cashew butter, I just like how salty/sweet cashew butter is!
IMG_3990 See, it is super easy and much better for you than raw cookie dough or a sugar filled dessert. It was a yummy after dinner snack and satisfied my sweet tooth because I felt like I was eating cookie dough.

Today I am linking up for meatless Monday with Tina Muir and Confessions of a Mother Runner, plus the Real Food Recipe link up with Jo-Lynne Shane and Alison Ray and Tasty Tuesday at LeanLena and AHungryRunner, and Candy Fit!

realfood_roundup_320 p.txt

11 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Edible (healthy) Cookie Dough

  1. Cookie dough! I make a raw cookie dough with cashew butter and raw chocolate chip cookies I eat like dough but I will have to try this when I don’t want to break out the food processor!

    Like

  2. This speaks to me…cookie dough speaks to me. My favorite is usually when it’s in ice cream format, but this looks super easy and really delicious, too. And a little easier to enjoy at this time of year — I’m in the mid-20s/low 30s in DC again, too!

    Like

    1. I love cookie dough, I think we all do 🙂 I just grab a couple spoonfuls at night and satisfy my sweet tooth! I am from Annapolis so I have the same weather except that I just got to Chicago this morning and it was 0 F when I landed!!

      Like

  3. Oh yum that sounds good! I have tried making the chickpea cookie dough but I wasn’t much of a fan at all! I might just have to try this for a weekend treat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

