Chocolate Plantain Pancakes

What a great way to start a Monday! Pancakes!

Just because I choose for pancakes to go instead of the waffles or french toast doesn’t mean I don’t still eat and enjoy them. I make them the most often actually because I don’t have a waffle maker and we usually freeze our bread so french toast would take a while to make…. either way I have a pancake recipe for you today!

What is not to love about chocolate and plantains?? Nothing in my book because I eat a lot of both of those. I have seven five (baked two last night) plantains in my kitchen right now that will be ripe this week and ready to eat. I love plantains and I hope you do too.

IMG_4381

Chocolate Plantain Pancakes: 

Ingredients:

  • 1 large ripe plantain
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 scoop protein powder (chocolate/unflavored or vanilla)
  • 1 T coconut flour
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp nunaturals cocoa syrup (or other sweetener)
  • optional add ins: chocolate chips, coconut, nuts, etc

Directions:

  1. Peel plantain and blend it up in a blender then pour into a bowl.
  2. Add protein powder, coconut flour, cocoa powder vanilla extact and cocoa syrup or sweetener to bowl and mix together.
  3. Add chocolate chips, nuts, coconut etc. if you want to the batter.
  4. Heat a nonstick skillet, spray if necessary, pour batter onto hot skillet in the size pancake desired. Flip once the top starts to bubble and bottom is golden (2-4 min).
  5. Repeat until all of batter is gone and you have some delicious pancakes ready to eat!
  6. Serve with maple syrup and any other desired toppings.

IMG_4376 IMG_4386 IMG_4387

Linking up this week with Tina Muir and Confessions of a Mother Runner for Meatless Monday, the Real Food Recipe link up with Jo-Lynne Shane and Alison Ray and Tasty Tuesday at LeanLena and A HungryRunner ,Recipe of the Week with Emily, Foodie Friday with AnnmarieCandy Fit, and Rattlebridge!

realfood_roundup_320p.txtTasty-Tuesday-Badge300x300_bothfoodiefriday-e1421415565350

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Plantain Pancakes

  1. Sounds like the perfect way to start a monday to me! How can you not like pancakes, especially when they are this good! I am not sure i have ever made chocolate ones…should go on the list! Thanks for linking up to meatless monday 🙂

    Like

  2. I love plantains! ❤ I haven't had any since I left the Dominican Republic back in March of last yaer (so sad ;_; )! These look super good! :] Thanks for linking up with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

