Why I Drink Coffee (& you should too!)

Hey there. So I have wanted to do more informational posts for y’all based off what I know and what I read about. I am still an undergrad but want to look into both personal training and nutrition once I graduate so hopefully I will have accreditations one day!

I usually mention my love of coffee in addition to all the coffee flavored things I consume and there are a few reasons why! So I have compiled a list I hope is helpful. Just a note too- this means REAL coffee- black or with a little bit of milk, not those lattes or frappuccinos that can be full of sugar!

images

1. Coffee tastes awesome.
Yes, reason number one. If you do not like coffee then don’t force yourself to drink or eat it you can get each benefit elsewhere, but for those of us that enjoy it, it is nice to know there are multiple health benefits to having a cup or two a day.

2. Coffee is full of antioxidants.
Humans absorb more antioxidants from coffee than anything else we may consume. This can lower the risk of many diseases (some listed below) and reduce the risk of stroke, heart and liver diseases.

3. Coffee is proven to lower stress, even just the smell.
It has been found that coffee reduces the stress chemical response. Also, for those that regularly drink coffee, it can reduce the chance of stress induced high blood pressure.

4. Coffee can improve athletic performance.
It increases the number of fatty acids in the bloodstream which can be used for fuel thus saving your carb store for later in the workout. This improvement in performance is seen in long/endurance training. In moderation coffee can be counted as fluid consumption (not dehydrating) and our bodies can adapt to the effects meaning it is all fluid/hydrating.

5. Coffee helps the brain.
It can reduce the risk of Alzheimer’s, dementia, and Parkinson’s disease due to the antioxidants reducing damage to brain cells. Also, as a stimulant it helps boost brain function and helps concentration.

6. Coffee can help boost metabolism.
This is because the caffeine in coffee puts the nervous system on high alert that causes the body to burn calories to meet our energy needs. It also can boost metabolism if you use it before workouts because you will be able to work hard and longer.

Note- Coffee can have a negative effect is consumed in large quantities. It is recommended to drink 1-3 cups a day and after 5 the effects can be reversed.

Last but not least I have a recipe for some yummy overnight oats!

photo 1photo 2
Mocha Overnight Oats:

  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1/2 c plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3 c milk (any type)
  • 1 scoop coffee protein powder (I used Click but I also have Javopro that is unopened)
  • 1 tsp. espresso powder
  • Toppings: sliced banana, almond slivers, chocolate chips, granola, coconut, etc.

Directions: Add the ingredients together in a bowl/container and mix together. Let sit in the fridge overnight or for a couple hours. Remove from fridge and add the toppings you want before enjoying them!

-I used decaf protein powder for these because I normally eat them with a cup of coffee (or add the protein to my coffee) and it was already open.

Leave a comment